top of page

Irondale, AL and Garner, NC

Sunday morning of 11/14/16, I was outside the Walmart in Irondale, AL and I saw a young homeless woman sitting outside the store. I gave her a couple of dollars and a bottle of water.

Five days later I had just drove out of the parking lot at the Home Depot in Garner, NC and I saw a homeless man standing at the traffic light. I gave him a couple of dollars.

Those two interactions reminded me, believe it or not, of our leaders, town/city, state, and Oval Office. It reminded me that it doesn’t matter who is currently serving in public office or it doesn’t matter which political party controlled the house and Senate. When it comes to our humanity and serving others, it still comes down to the individual interactions and face to face engagements we have every day. And that sometimes we can make a big difference with the smallest acts of kindness. We know we can't do it all the time, but we know it's better than doing it at all. And we know we can't do it every day, but we can do it ONE day (why not today?).

And we need to remind ourselves that WE as INDIVIDUALS, not the people that is supposed to represent our “best interests” in our governments, are the ones changing the world …..


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page