top of page

Trying Something New

“Anyone who hasn’t made a mistake has never tried anything new”

--- Albert Einstein

This weekend I tried not one, but two new things: I made a purchase on eBay and I made a purchase on Groupon. I wanted to get my youngest son a used snowboard. I didn’t want to blow money on a new snowboard if my son wouldn’t like it, but he took a liking to skateboarding this Summer, so let’s see how he does with a snowboard? Besides, his old man loves it! So I found a used snowboard on eBay for only $25 (thanks to a 1st time $15 coupon—thanks, eBay!) and during the Christmas break, we’ll see how he does on the kiddie slopes on our next ski trip.

As for Groupon, I’ve seen the commercials (“If you’re going to own something, own the experience!”) and wanted to give it a try. For $14, I bought a 2-hour pass to Launching Pad Trampoline Park in Raleigh, saved $8, and made the purchase on the Groupon website the same way I would’ve purchased it on the Launching Pad website: nice and easy! My youngest didn’t know the difference, as long as he was bouncing around trampolines for two hours!

I’ve gotten my feet wet with eBay and Groupon, so what can I buy now, especially when I want to own something and an experience? I still got my eyes set on a new or used Les Paul Special electric guitar, and living in the Raleigh-Durham area, I receive countless things to do with Groupon offers pinging my smartphone every hour.

Still the conservative shopper, but with plenty of opportunities and deals, it’s a great way to close out the last two months of 2016……


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page